Research & Clinical Trials in Neurology and Neurosurgery

Neurological Research Advances Medical Science Toward New and Improved Treatments

David Haney
Director of Research Operations

University Hospitals Neurological Institute is dedicated to research and the advancement of care for patients with neurological diseases. Clinical trials are research studies that involve the participation of human volunteers. The purpose of a clinical trial is to test the safety and effectiveness of new ways to diagnose, prevent and treat a medical problem, such as disease, illness or injury. Some studies are preventative, while some look at new treatments of illnesses and disorders, and others study the recovery of patients after illness.

In the Neurology Clinical Trials Department at UH, we have studies that cover a wide variety of neurological disorders. Please explore the web page for information about studies currently being conducted, as well as studies for which we are actively recruiting. You can find studies for specific diseases by clicking on the type of disease in the list below. If you have any questions or think you may qualify for a study, please contact us using the contact information at the bottom of the page.

These include:

We conduct clinical trials that offer new or additional treatments for patients with a wide range of neurological diseases. Depending on the disease, these patients can be enrolled in studies while they are in the emergency room, the intensive care unit, before or after surgery, or in an outpatient office setting.

Stroke & Neurosurgery
Name Email address Phone
Valerie Cwiklinski, RN Valerie.Cwiklinski1@UHhospitals.org 216-983-5144
Natalie Abraham, MA natalie.abraham@uhhospitals.org 216-983-4996
Movement Disorders, Migraines, Epilepsy, Multiple Sclerosis & Neuromuscular Diseases
Name Email address Phone
David Korosec, RN david.korosec@uhhospitals.org 216-844-1800
Natalie Abraham, MA natalie.abraham@uhhospitals.org 216-983-4996
Alzheimer’s & Dementia
Name Email address Phone
Maria Gross, RN maria.gross@uhhospitals.org 216-464-6454
Parianne Fatica, CCRC parianne.fatica@uhhospitals.org 216-464-6474
Susi Sami, MA, CCRC susie.sami@uhhospitals.org 216-464-6467
Marianne Sanders, RN marianne.sanders@uhhospitals.org 216-464-6462
Back to Top